vForums Support Banner



 

Welcome Guest! Please Login or Register
vForums Support :: Programming & Coding :: Programming Discussion :: need some help? - View Topic (Page 2 of 3)Page: 1 2 3
Topic Rating: *****
Printable View
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 5:52pm UTC)
ok put the code:

<?
if($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST'){
if(!isset($_POST['username']) || $_POST['username'] == '')
$error[] = 'Username is required';
if(!isset($_POST['email']) || $_POST['email'] == '')
$error[] = 'Email is required';
if(!isset($_POST['site']) || $_POST['site'] == '')
$error[] = 'Site URL is required';
if(!isset($_POST['banner']) || $_POST['banner'] == '')
$error[] = 'Banner URL is required';
if(!isset($_POST['category']) || $_POST['category'] == '')
$error[] = 'Site Category is required';
if(!isset($error)){
mail("Email Address", "New Site Submission", "Username: " . $_POST['username'] . "\nEmail: " . $_POST['email'] . "\nSite: " . $_POST['site'] . "\nBanner: " . $_POST['banner'] . "\nCategory: " . $_POST['category'], "From: " . $_POST['username'] . " <" . $_POST['email'] . ">");
header("location: ./confirm.html");
}else
echo "-" . implode("<br />-", $error);
}else{
echo "Not submitted correctly";
}
?>


in a file called submit.php

then:

<form action = 'submit.php' method = 'post'>
Username: <input name = 'username' /><br />
Email Address: <input name = 'email' /><br />
Site URL: <input name = 'site' /><br />
Banner URL: <input name = 'banner' /><br />
Site Category: <input name = 'category' /><br />
<input type = 'submit' value = 'submit' />
</form>


Place that where you want the form {Smile}
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 8:43pm UTC)
Thanks that worked. {Smile}

Now I need a little more help with the css. You see they greyish line running through the middle? well that's actually supposed to be at the top. but when ever I try to put it at the top, it wont.

Code:
 
  1. table {background: url('http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x20/magedesigns/directory/wallpaper1.png') repeat bottom}
  2. table2 {background: url('http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x20/magedesigns/directory/wallpaper2.png')repeat bottom}
 


The reason why it says bottom is because if I put top or middle it falls of the screen, and it's not supposed to do that. I am not sure how, or what to do with this. {Unsure}
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 8:46pm UTC)
Where are you using that?
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 8:52pm UTC)
This: <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://thedirectory.2x.nu/style.css">


It's on all pages of the site.
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:13pm UTC)
The background1 image is too tall, it's not just the small gradient... =/
Change the image. {Smile}
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:16pm UTC)
Ahh ok. I think I know what I did. xD I'll download the images, and crop them so that they are correct.

I'll be redesigning it anyways later. But for now, I'll be working with what I got.
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:18pm UTC)
{Smile}
Gooood.
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:37pm UTC)
Ok, it's not working correctly. I changed the image, but it's still not working properly. I have the tags correctly added in the index.html, The form is what's messing it up for some reason, because if you go to another page, it'll show just fine. Not sure what's going on. But I guess I'll have to start on the redesign soon.

edit: now I'm so confused with this now... On every page it's not working properly.
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:40pm UTC)
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x20/magedesigns/directory/wallpaper1.png

The image hasn't been changed! =/
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:46pm UTC)
Yeah it was changed:

table {background: url('http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x20/magedesigns/directory/gradbar.png') no-repeat bottom}
table2 {background: url('http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x20/magedesigns/directory/gradbar.png') no-repeat bottom}

If I type top, it's totally off the page, and if I type middle it's off the page, and if I type bottom it's at the bottom of the page.
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:49pm UTC)
Why in the HTML have you given it a height of 400px? O.o
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 9:53pm UTC)
I don't even remember doing that. xD I have taken it out, but nothing has changed.
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (11th Jan 10 at 10:23pm UTC)
How do you get it all in div's instead of tables? I know Dwight did it, but I cannot remember how he did it. It'd be allot easier to work with that, then these tables.
Michael
Moderator
*****

[Avatar]
Recoding the future

Posts: 4,043
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Joined:  

Additional Groups:
Coding Team
***


Reputation: 58%  


pmtwittervForum
Re: need some help? (12th Jan 10 at 6:13am UTC)
It's best you take a look into CSS more in depth, I'm not going to be able to sit and explain the whole thing for you. But just start simple, and work up. {Smile}
Nick
Very Senior Member
*****

[Avatar]

Posts: 3,007
Status: Offline
Gender: Male
Location: vForums
Age: 30
Joined:  
Reputation: 62%  


pm
Re: need some help? (12th Jan 10 at 8:06am UTC)
Yep, I got it working now! {Grin} The site is nearly complete. Try for your self! {Smile}
 Printable View
Page: 1 2 3

All times are GMT+0 :: The current time is 7:32am
Page generated in 0.4087 seconds
This Forum is Powered By vForums (v2.4)
Create a Forum for Free | Find Forums